13 most “important” 80s LPs of all time (according to mistersplice)

24 Aug

Because Jimi’s top 80s LPs of all time post has been getting so many hits lately I decided to share some of my eighties opinions. These are definitely not my favorite albums from the 80s though…I’m saving that for later.

These are the 13 albums from the 80s (listed in chronological order) that I think are the most “important”: the ones that were the most influential and had the biggest impact on pop culture. Feel free to point out anything that I may have missed…because I’m sure I missed something. And share your thoughts if you don’t agree.

AC/DC - Back in Black
AC/DC – Back in Black (1980)

Journey - Escape
Journey – Escape (1981)

Rush - Moving Pictures
Rush – Moving Pictures (1981)

Pink Floyd - The Final Cut
Pink Floyd – The Final Cut (1983)

The Police - Synchronicity
The Police – Synchronicity (1983)

Madonna - Like A Virgin
Madonna – Like a Virgin (1984)

Metallica - Master of Puppets
Metallica – Master of Puppets (1986)

Run D.M.C. - Raising Hell
Run-DMC – Raising Hell (1986)

Guns n' Roses - Appetite for Destruction
Guns N’ Roses – Appetite for Destruction (1987)

U2 - The Joshua Tree
U2 – The Joshua Tree (1987)

N.W.A. - Straight Outta Compton
N.W.A – Straight Outta Compton (1988)

REM - Green
R.E.M. – Green (1988)

Pixies - Doolittle
Pixies – Doolittle (1989)

(a response to Jimi and Christin. Also…I might have cheated with a few of these, but they didn’t seem to fit into my real “best of” list.)

Leave a Reply

