a dream on Mars

12 Jan

I’ve stolen this entry because it looks almost exactly like a place I’ve been in a dream. I’m completely serious…my first reaction was recognition. I may even have been to the place in more than one dream. I think there was more than one pod-complex down by the water and they were all connected to a cave system though. Also: it’s slightly reminiscent of the structures on Mars in Kim Stanley Robinson’s Mars trilogy. (I’m only halfway through the second book, but if your brain is sufficiently advanced enough to handle sci-fi then I would recommend reading Red Mars. …with a quickness.)

 

xxx

Atkin’s Architecture Group recently won the first prize award for an international design competition with this stunning entry. Set in a spectacular water filled quarry in Songjiang, China, the 400 bed resort hotel is uniquely constructed within the natural elements of the quarry. Underwater public areas and guest rooms add to the uniqueness, but the resort also boasts cafes, restaurants and sporting facilities.

The rest is here.

xxx

Leave a Reply

