Neverland: Finding …yourself very sad [8.1/10]

25 Apr

I don’t know if I was just having an exceptionally emotional day, but this film really affected me. Way more than I ever could have imagined. I try to completely immerse myself in the audio-visual world of films and I can really get into things if the conditions are right, but this was a really unusual case for me.

“Are you sure you’d rather play with my children? I’d really like you to join me in the bath.”
“Oh…I’m quite sure. They’re marvelous little creatures. Simply darling.”

When I started watching I was in a more melancholy mood than usual and that feeling grew and grew as the movie progressed until I was in tears. The strange thing about it was that I started crying a good ten minutes before the moment that I expect was designed to make people cry. I’ve watched enough films to know when the filmmakers are trying to provoke an emotional response from the audience, but this seemed somehow beyond the norm.
Was this film skillfully designed to produce sadness and am I somehow so perceptive that I picked up on it before it was revealed in the story? I just don’t think that’s the case…it must have just been an emotional day for me. Maybe I’ll watch this again to try and figure it out.

One Response to “Neverland: Finding …yourself very sad [8.1/10]”

  1. winnie Friday.Friday.Friday.February 2, 2007 at 1:02 am #

    hey u had a terible day what can i say?i can imagine maself anyway am sorry

Leave a Reply

