Assault on Precinct 13 [6.4/10]

10 Apr

I didn’t see the original until after I saw the remake, but I’ll start with the 1976 version. If I had seen it 20 years ago I would have liked it more than Rocky [best picture – 1976], but I don’t think it holds up that well.


that’s one smooth lady. I’d smoke a cigarette with her.

The most shocking part for me was learning that John Carpenter was responsible for my favorite Tricky song. Beyond that, I can see why the movie is a cult classic, even if it’s not a cult classic for me. It worked for the most part, but the premise was a bit of a stretch. I think that’s why they decided to change it for the remake. The reason for the “assault” makes more sense in the 2005 version…definitely one of the things I would have changed. Byrne’s character could have used some depth, but the original badguys were even more underdeveloped. The biggest problem that I had with the update was the magical forest that they invented for the end scene. That might be considered a spoiler, but maybe I just want you to look extra hard for some trees in the first 90% of the movie.


“see any trees?” “nope.” “me either.”

Or maybe you should just pretend you see some in the distance at the beginning of the movie and you won’t have the negative reaction that I did when the forest appears. I wouldn’t be surprised if the ending was re-shot and tacked on. Nope…that wouldn’t surprise me one bit.

Leave a Reply

