Teenage Gatchaman Turtles and the Ninja Battle of the Mutant G-Force Planets

11 Jan

I’m sure everyone remembers the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. They’ve been all over the place. The thing is…many of you know the wrong turtles. You only have to read 7 pages of the first issue of the original TMNT comic to see the difference. This is what my turtles look like:

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

They DO NOT, however, look like this:

So…you can imagine how excited I was to hear that the new TMNT movie “will derive its tone from the original comic-book series and will be slightly grittier than the previous live-action pictures.” I know you’re probably thinking: “The teaser trailer was released in July…this is nothing new.” or “So what? I don’t even like turtles.”, but I’m only bringing it up because the director, Kevin Munroe, has recently announced that his next project will be Gatchaman:

click for movie details.

I can’t claim any cool points with Gatchaman because I remember it as Battle of the Planets. The heavily edited American version removed the violent scenes and replaced them with scenes of an R2D2-like robot (and his pet robot dog!) talking to the audience. Despite that…somehow Battle of the Planets replaced Speed Racer to become my favorite animated series when I was a small child-like creature. What I mean by that is that I like G-Force as much as many of you people like those silly hero turtles. Also, to add to my excitement, the new Gatchaman movie will definitely be PG-13, “even maybe pushing R.” I hope it ends up being rated R…the kids get enough happy, non-violent animation as it is.

[edit: click for my march 24tH Gatchaman update.]

One Response to “Teenage Gatchaman Turtles and the Ninja Battle of the Mutant G-Force Planets”

  1. S Monday.Monday.Monday.January 18, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Ninja Turtels is Very Excellent game .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

